• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Anybody have IBS, or IBD that had Gastric Bypass?

Hi everyone I guess I am really a newbie because I am only just beginning this process but by no means is this my first attempt. Ive finally found an employer that hasnt specifically excluded straight out the gate and by what Im reading I should start the process now for what I want to a surgical date in late spring to early summer so my FMLA will be available. My main question is has anyone had or has IBS ( Irritable bowel syndrome) or IBD (Inflammatory Bowel Disease) and been able to go through with the surgery. Which procedure you chose and have you had any improvement with the surgery. I ask because I dont get specific answers from my GI Doc and have yet to sit down with a surgeon, I know its possible but was curious. I have known about the surgery for over ten years now and have had a friend go through RNY and watched her success and her failures. She was sadly not compliant with nutrition and paying the price with a lifetime of blood transfusions and a few other issues with her liver, much by her own actions. But nonethe less seen her weight loss. It makes me shy away from the RNY so really the Sleeve or Oband are really what Im looking at.