• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Hip surgery

Pat99

Has anyone had hip replacement surgery? I want to know how your recovery and post surgical pain was. I have heard from a few hip surgery patients that the pain they had after surgery was less than what they went through before surgery. Call me skeptical but I find this hard to believe. And I have also heard a couple of horror stories about extreme pain and physical therapy that lasted for close to a year before they could use their new hip successfully.

If you or a family member or close friend has had complete hip replacement surgery I would love to hear about the experience. This includes the good, the bad and the ugly. I also would like to know if it was laproscopic or open surgery since this will help me make up my mind on which way to go. I must also mention that I have been putting this off for 5 years and could use some motivation to get this over with. You would think that the pain I endure on a daily basis would be enough motivation but it isn't. I had a bad experience 5 years ago during an exam and ever since then I haven't done anything about it. My PCP gave me the name of a different orthopedic surgeon but I am scared to go for a consult because of my previous experience. I could really use some motivation and encouragement right now.

Pat, My husband had a total hip replacement. The pain in the hospital was bad (for some reason Morphine didn't work so well on him, but they wouldn't change to something else, I can't remember why). He had a four or five inch scar, so I don't think it was with a laporoscope.