• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

How much is to much ?

KingOxNYC

Got a question I'm going to the gym 2 times a day 5 days a week. I use the eliptical machine no weights yet. I'm currently burning 360 or so carlories each time I go. My calorie intake for the day is around 1200 to 1300. Am I doing to much ??? I'd like to go more I do around 30-45 min when I go

I am not an expert but even when I was 300+ Lbs I would go to the gym for 45 to 60 min a day 5 days a week. My thought is as long as you are not hurting yourself you are doing fine. I still try to get 45-60 min of cardio a day in the winter 3-5 days a week and incorporate weight training in the summer months. One thing I noticed was a lot of plateaus becase I was building muscle as quick as I was losing fat so the scale was slow going at times, so make sure you take measurements or have some way of guaging your weight loss other than the scale so you dont get discouraged. One other thing more muscle will do for you is burn calories more efficiently so you may want to talk to your dietitian to see if you are getting enough calories a day, I alway follow my workout with a protien shake and some peanuts or something salty like that. Keep up the good work your doing great. :cool: Tom

I agree with Tom about following up with your nutritionist to make sure your meal plan supports your activity level. You especially need to make sure you are getting adequate protein. Based on the amount of time you work out and the amount of weight you have lost I would say you are getting more than enough exercise.

I am surprised that your surgeon has released you to do such extensive exercising since you just had your surgery on 1/31/12. I just saw my surgeon 2 days ago and was told to wait a minimum of 8 full weeks before going to the gym. Good luck and please come back to the forum to let us know how you are doing.