• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

I want my butt back!

MontyPooka

Hello,
I am new to this support group. I had surgery 2/25/19. Starting weight of 299.8 lbs and now am 242.8 pounds. I do a lot of walking, I bike occasionally and use my rower for exercise. I also do squats a lot. Growing up I was really active and always had a curvy figure. I think I attached part of my identity with being curvy. My favorite part of my body was my butt. I always had a round and firm butt. Currently, I have a no muscle, flat and flabby butt. I really hate it and it's a huge downer. All my new smaller sized pants are saggy in the butt. I want to feel excited but can't help but mourn my butt being gone as weird as that sounds. My doctor advised to keep with my current workouts and make sure I meet my protein goals. I am doing this but I am frustrated. Does anyone have suggestions on something they did to regain their butt muscle again or is having a flat butt part of my life I need to accept now?

Any suggestions are appreciated!

I can sort-of relate. My tush doesn't seem to be shrinking but my breasts certainly are!

I know it's better to be healthy and it should be expected but I'm still mourning the loss of 'um. ;)

On this topic, anyone else looking into reconstructive surgery once your loss has stabilized? Since my surgery in March, I've been addicted to researching tummy tucks, breast lifts and brachiosty on https://www.realself.com/.

I can sort-of relate. My tush doesn't seem to be shrinking but my breasts certainly are!

I know it's better to be healthy and it should be expected but I'm still mourning the loss of 'um. ;)

On this topic, anyone else looking into reconstructive surgery once your loss has stabilized? Since my surgery in March, I've been addicted to researching tummy tucks, breast lifts and brachiosty on https://www.realself.com/.