• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

I'm new here; need encouragement

jcunkle

My name is Jennifer, I am 54 years old and am nine days post gastric sleeve surgery. One of my surgical incisions bruised significantly and I am in much more pain than anticipated. I went for my first post-op visit yesterday and was told that I was doing fine; to continue with Tylenol for pain, but am feeling very isolated and discouraged. I have been managing my clinical depression for many years and take quite a few medications. Taking them has been going ok, but I am already wondering if malabsorption is a problem as I am crying and feeling down every day. Any folks of similar age out there who can comment on how long it took before they felt more free from surgical pain?

The pain will not last. The surgery also does a number on our hormones which can affect the way we feel. You are not alone in feeling this way. Be patient with yourself. Your medication may need to be adjusted as you lose weight but i am confident you will soon feel better and losing the weight has positive effects both mentally and physically. Hang in there, you got this!!!

The pain will not last. The surgery also does a number on our hormones which can affect the way we feel. You are not alone in feeling this way. Be patient with yourself. Your medication may need to be adjusted as you lose weight but i am confident you will soon feel better and losing the weight has positive effects both mentally and physically. Hang in there, you got this!!!
Thank you so much, what a great first response to receive!