• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

I'm new to the support group

kbloom

Hello fellow WLS friends. We sure do need support before, during and after. Glad to find this site and hope this is a positive experience. I had the sleeve in April 2012. Approaching my 6 month checkup.

Hi KBloom, Welcome. Your doing fantastic 141 lbs in 6 months, hope all is well with your check up, I hear you guys (sleeve patients) don't have the malabsorbtion issues like we (RnY) have, do they do blood work to check your vitamin levels just to make sure your not lacking? Keep up the good work. :cool: Tom

Look at your numbers. What an inspiration!
My loss included 3 months of intense pre=op weight loss. Required by my bariatric center including 6 weeks of opti-fast.
Sleevers don't have malabsorbtion issues, and we have blood work every 3 months the first year, and annual afterwards. They say we starve, and you don't absorb food. I am never hungry as the sleeve is known to remove the part of the stomach that relays the hunger symptom. So I have to remind myself to take in my protein. So far the excitement of results has stopped any emotional hunger from taking hold so far. Take care Tom.