• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Medicare - Medically Supervised Weight Loss

Lifepm

Hi,

I’m new to all of this.

My doctor will send me to the Bariatric Department based on my weight and a co-morbidity health condition.

I’m concerned about Medicare’s medically supervised weight loss program requirement. Actually, it states “Documented participation in medically supervised weight loss program”. I haven’t been in a program since I was in my late teens. I have no documentation of the program.

If I’m put on a program now, I might fall before the BMI requirement. Taking off weight could happen, however, I have difficulty keeping it off in the long run. Also, I’d hate to have to push off the surgery do to this.

Obviously, I’m afraid of not qualifying for a program.

Any person experience or suggestions?

Thank you!

Attachments

• 60705DC6-724B-4B5E-A634-2F5EEDCDC966.png
    60705DC6-724B-4B5E-A634-2F5EEDCDC966.png
    956.6 KB · Views: 64
Hi,

I’m new to all of this.

My doctor will send me to the Bariatric Department based on my weight and a co-morbidity health condition.

I’m concerned about Medicare’s medically supervised weight loss program requirement. Actually, it states “Documented participation in medically supervised weight loss program”. I haven’t been in a program since I was in my late teens. I have no documentation of the program.

If I’m put on a program now, I might fall before the BMI requirement. Taking off weight could happen, however, I have difficulty keeping it off in the long run. Also, I’d hate to have to push off the surgery do to this.

Obviously, I’m afraid of not qualifying for a program.

Any person experience or suggestions?

Thank you!