• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

New season… New me!

ms0616

Hello all I’m having my Gastric Sleeve surgery on Sept. 1st. I’m not really nervous (yet), but I am worried about the healing process after. I’m doing my surgery in Mexico with Dr. Altamirano. I live in LA so will be driving there and back. My surgery is on Fri and I come back home Saturday or Sunday I believe. Monday is a holiday, but I plan on going back to work on Tuesday. I’m a high school teacher so I’m not sure if that’s the best idea or not. My Dr. said that I should be fine because I can sit and my job isn’t anything that requires any heavy lifting or anything like that. I’m just a little nervous about if I’ll be able to handle being at work right away? I’m worried about having to use the restroom or going up the stairs. Things like that. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you all.

Hello all I’m having my Gastric Sleeve surgery on Sept. 1st. I’m not really nervous (yet), but I am worried about the healing process after. I’m doing my surgery in Mexico with Dr. Altamirano. I live in LA so will be driving there and back. My surgery is on Fri and I come back home Saturday or Sunday I believe. Monday is a holiday, but I plan on going back to work on Tuesday. I’m a high school teacher so I’m not sure if that’s the best idea or not. My Dr. said that I should be fine because I can sit and my job isn’t anything that requires any heavy lifting or anything like that. I’m just a little nervous about if I’ll be able to handle being at work right away? I’m worried about having to use the restroom or going up the stairs. Things like that. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you all.
Hello! Good luck on your surgery!

While it is true, in my experience, that you won’t be having major mobility issues, the first few days after surgery you are likely to feel very tired.