• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

New to group

Hello everyone, I am new to this and am on the road to getting the surgery almost thru the process and working on my pre surgical weight loss. I am so nervous to say the least I worry after surgery I will vomit and or have bowel problems for a long period of time,I worry about becoming malnourished and I already have thin hair and worry so much about looking bald.I would appreciate hearing others experiances and share pre-surgery jitters with those of you waiting for the big day. Looking for friends to share this journey with:eek:

Welcome! You must have positive thoughts. Yes, some of those things you mentioned could happen, but they are not the norm. Pre-surgery jitters are normal, and everyone has them (some more than others) :) Read through the forums, talk to some of the other people here. Get a feel for what others have experienced. My surgery was on Jan. 28th (4 days ago), so the actual post-operative issues are fresh in my mind. I really had no problems with the surgery. So my advice is to take a deep breath, and keep moving forward.Try to remember all the reasons that made you want the surgery in the first place. You can do this!

Missy