• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Sleeve or Bypass?

JMOS

Hi everyone,
I am new to this forum and just started the process to get bariatric surgery. I saw my surgeon and he thought the Sleeve was a great option, but since then I have heard from different people that they wish they would have just gotten the bypass. A few people have told me that the sleeve stopped working (or maybe stretched out) after a few years. I love to hear your experiences and suggestions.

Thank you!

I am not a medical professional and have no idea which surgery would be right for you. I 100% suggest you do some research on each surgery yourself so you can make an informed decision.

However, I was personally anti-sleeve. Like to the point where I refused to sign a paper agreeing to allow a change in procedure if I was still under and it was deemed medically advisable. I said, nope, close me up unaltered. I had medical reasons for that and honestly, I do not know a single person (personally!!!) who has hit their goal or maintained with the sleeve.

That being said, my husband had the sleeve. Due to medical and safety issues, the surgeon was only willing to perform the sleeve. And I do believe any WLS can be successful long term. It IS a tool and you have to use it properly in order for it to work.

I can't talk about the sleeve personally because I got the bypass, and when I had it, it was major surgery, not laparoscopic. But reading this group for 14 years, my opinion is that bypass is better than sleeve. But don't take my word for it. There are many studies, both federal and medical. Many are accessible online, including the one I was in, which is attached to the federal nutrition sites.