• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

So unsure

Ari

Hello all. I have been considering bariatric surgery for a few months but honestly I am very unsure. It seems lime there is so much pain involved. Please share your experience with me so I can have a realistic view of how people typically feel after surgery. Thank you so much.

Some bariatric patients do experience post-op pain or discomfort, but many do not. I can only speak for myself: I had VSG at age 67. I experienced minimal discomfort, and used Tylenol for only 3 days post-op. When I went through the various food stages, I did so easily and with no discomfort. Is has been SO worth it. I’m sure others will speak up.

I was 59 when I had my Gastric Bypass in July. I saw from other posts here that the CO2 gas they pump inside us during WLS caused most of the pain & discomfort rather than the 5 tiny incisions. Evidently the surgical team "used a rolling pin" on me & got most of that gas out of me before closing the incisions. I actually said that to my surgeon on my follow-up visit when I thanked him for pushing out the gas - he cracked up about the rolling pin.

Anyway, I was able to start walking a few hours after recovery and continued walking as much as possible over the days & weeks to follow. I had tolerable pain at home the next day; I took lortabs & alternated with Tylenol for 3 days. I was able to use Tylenol only starting day 4 at home.

Pain is a possibility for you, but hopefully it won't be a deal breaker for you. The pain relief following major weight loss more than makes up for a few days of pain, imho.