• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Surgery and PCOS

Hi everyone,
I am new to this journey! I am hoping to get surgery for this upcoming year, I weigh about 315 I was thinking about sleeve gastrectomy but i am changing my mind and interested in doing gastric bypass. I just need some help with navigating the surgery and how to prepare myself best as someone with PCOS also. I need help relationship with food and how to prepare myself for what's to come. I would love some advice on how to take control.

Hi everyone,
I am new to this journey! I am hoping to get surgery for this upcoming year, I weigh about 315 I was thinking about sleeve gastrectomy but i am changing my mind and interested in doing gastric bypass. I just need some help with navigating the surgery and how to prepare myself best as someone with PCOS also. I need help relationship with food and how to prepare myself for what's to come. I would love some advice on how to take control.
I'm going to leave PCOS out of my response, because that's a huge issue you should ask your bariatric team about. My sense, however, is that it's really unrelated and is just part of a tapestry of fear you're suffering, like we all do.

I had my surgery way back in the day. They made a 7" vertical incision from my navel to my sternum. I was in bed for two weeks post-op. I could barely stand eating but I relied on the pain meds they gave me and mostly ate creamy stuff like Malt-O-Meal and mushroom soup made with Magic Milk. I'd advise you to search for the milk recipe within the group. You get double protein and it tastes pretty good, but even better, it turns smoothies into atomic bombs of nutrition.