• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

? Type of surgery

OzarkEve

I am having a dilemma, my surgeon will not do a RNY due to prior heart attacks (3). He said I can go 250 miles away to the big city and have it done there. He will do a sleeve here. I told him I live hear and don’t want to depend on someone 5 hours away if I have a problem. I am 52 My biggest goal is to improve my health and eliminate my diabetes. Reduce the pill count every day. I have been working for 10 years trying to get surgery. One clinic then another. Now I am afraid if I don’t take the sleeve surgery I never will get surgery. Any ideas?

With three heart attacks under your belt before your 53rd birthday, I would listen to my doctor locally. Take the sleeve. It's a much less invasive surgery and the longer you stay under sedation by anesthesia the greater the risk of death or stroke. You'll do fine with the sleeve. Many people here swear by it. I think you should listen to your doctor and then get busy and do what you want to do.

I also think you should spend some time with a psychiatrist who specializes in obesity and bariatric surgery. I don't understand why you are even hesitating and I'm thinking you must be considered a high-risk patient and honestly, it might not even be safe for you to have any surgery at all. These are things you have to consider and you need to explain your motivation for what you want to a professional who can help you clarify your celebrities thought process.