• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

very apprehensive!!

LaurieB

Went to my first meeting that explained the different types of surgery and left feeling very apprehenisive about going through with any of them. I am overweight for a reason and its because i have been making bad food choices for many years. Using food for my comfort, whether i am happy or sad, tired or excited, lonely or with friends, etc. So the surgery will make me unable to eat much at one time, but it doesnt change my "head" or miraculously make my bad food choices go away! That's where my apprehensionstems from. I value anyones response that struggled with this also.

ya know I absolutely felt the same way at the brgining. I found as I done my research the mind set changes as the body goes thru the changes. What you feel is normal. I have depression anxiety and am bi-polar. as you go thru the proccess you will have a psych evaluation and make sure your ready for surgery. Hang in there and take it day by day don't rush things will work out ok.

Went to my first meeting that explained the different types of surgery and left feeling very apprehenisive about going through with any of them. I am overweight for a reason and its because i have been making bad food choices for many years. Using food for my comfort, whether i am happy or sad, tired or excited, lonely or with friends, etc. So the surgery will make me unable to eat much at one time, but it doesnt change my "head" or miraculously make my bad food choices go away! That's where my apprehensionstems from. I value anyones response that struggled with this also.