• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Hello, New Here.

Ash-a808

Hello,
My name is Ashley. I am new to online support groups for Bariatric surgery. I haven’t scheduled all of my appointments yet, nor have I lost all of my pre op weight (it is really hard due to certain meds I’m on) but I just wanted to say hello to my fellow Bariatric peeps. Aloha!

Hello and welcome! I am in the middle of my pre-op as well. I too am in some meds that cause a lot of issues with weight (one of the reasons I am having surgery). It is not easy when your body is working against you and the meds are non-negotiable. Good luck with all your pre-op requirements. You will do great!

Hello and welcome! I am in the middle of my pre-op as well. I too am in some meds that cause a lot of issues with weight (one of the reasons I am having surgery). It is not easy when your body is working against you and the meds are non-negotiable. Good luck with all your pre-op requirements. You will do great!
Thanks Mandy. Do you have a date for your surgery yet?

Just curious, are they requiring you to lose X amount of weight before you are approved for surgery. My sister had to lose close to 80lbs before she could get a surgery date. This was about 15yrs ago, and she told me it was about the hardest thing she ever had to do.

Welcome to the group. Good luck on your journey.

Just curious, are they requiring you to lose X amount of weight before you are approved for surgery. My sister had to lose close to 80lbs before she could get a surgery date. This was about 15yrs ago, and she told me it was about the hardest thing she ever had to do.

I know you're not asking me, but its such a good question, I hope others share.

in 2007 my doctor told me the requirement insurances listed was that a patient be 100 pounds overweight.