• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Hello

Jme1031

Hi everyone,
Came across this group online, and hoping to seek answers to questions I have.
My doctor advised me I am a good candidate for WLS, I have sleep problems, hormonal imbalances , minor hypertension and also a new diagnosis of prediabetes. Diet changes and exercise seem to have a reverse effect on me, I walk roughly a mile a day and stay away from sugary foods as much as possible and have cut back on drinking alcohol , with no success. As matter of fact since I started ,I have actually gained about 20 lbs in the course of 6 months.
I’m wondering if weight loss surgery helped with anyone who had hormonal imbalances. I don’t have PCOS, but high testosterone and ACTH.
How long did it take to notice improvement?

Hello and welcome to the group. Unfortunately I have no knowledge of the effects of WLS on hormone imbalance. That would definitely be a topic for your doctor. I would suggest a consultation with a bariatric center/surgeon.

Missy makes an important point. This is a support group. We don't know the answers to medical questions and each body is different. Please don't design your eating plan around someone elses's. There are general rules that most doctors share with patients, but there are many exceptions. After we have WLS, our bodies experience many changes. Tell your doctor before surgery and after surgery about chronic or acute problems. If you ask us a question about a medical issue we're going to advise you to seek a professional medical solution.