• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Hobbies

lucky for me, I live in the south and I can get out and walk. For days stuck inside, I have been researching my family history for nearly 50 years (I started when I was 13, and It has given me many memories of time spent with my Mom.). When I can, I take our camper out and we spend a few days at a campground (social distancing is easy at a campground, outdoors and everyone talks a bit louder as they stand back!).

I like Christmas crafting and I have discovered painting. I enjoyed going to paint party events, such as wine & canvas, back when I was comfortable going to bars in a group. And I discovered there are many instructional videos on YouTube. So I make my husband and mother paint with me once a month. It's super fun! And my walls are covered in unique art. I also read.

My biggest hobby with has been squashed due to Covid, is traveling. I've had a goal of seeing all 50 states and only have 4 more to go (Washington, Oregon, Alaska and Maine). My sister was taking me on a British Isle trip which got canceled due to Covid. :( I've also been to the Mediterranean, Italy, Canada, Mexico, Latin America, through the Panama Canal any many Caribbean Islands. So with Covid putting a damper in my wanderlust, I now watch a lot of travel videos which helps me feel like I'm on a mini vacation. I also love to make photo journals of my bigger trips and have them printed on programs such as Shutterfly or Snapfish.

I do dabble in crafts when the mood strikes me. I've done jewelry making, crochet, latch hook, embroidery, silk floral arranging, Christmas ornaments and whatever else strikes my mood.

I do like read, do jigsaw puzzles, play card games (Canasta, Bridge, Gin, Solitaire). I am hoping I'll be up to more gardening now that I am feeling more energetic and mobile. :)