• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Intro (after being on here for a week lol!)

MANDY2910

My name is Amanda, but you can call me Mandy for short. I am 41 years old and live with my husband and my mother in Missouri. I am originally from Wyoming, where I lived until I was in my thirties. I have two beautiful daughters, 21 and 17. I have two dogs, Bella and Nica and a wonderful mess of chickens that give me eggs and peck at my calves and chase me anytime I go outside. I work as a Respiratory therapist in Springfield, MO. During the pandemic this has been super challenging, not only because of the sheer volume of patients and how sick everyone is, but my weight has gotten completely out of control. Even when you are averaging 16,000+ steps a day you can still gain weight if all that is around you are donuts and pizza and you are so busy you are just happy there is food in the break room and you slam it down as fast as you can so you can get back to work. And of course let’s not forget your manager or another unit supervisor bringing in huge sugary lattes every shift. It’s amazing how many calories you can consume in short periods of time. Anyway, I have been heavy since I was a kid. 140 lbs by the beginning of 2nd grade, 200 lbs before middle school. I lost about 100 lbs between my 16th and 17th birthday, and fought like hell the next 13 years to keep it off and was successful, even through my pregnancies. Then in 2007 I had major surgery that messed up my thyroid and my female stuff and here it came! I have been losing and gaining the same 80-100 lbs ever since. When I diet I am determined and focused, but after fighting and fighting for months and months I give up. One little slip up and the food just tastes so good and it’s over! When I diet I eat good, tasty food. I love to cook, so trying new foods and new recipes is actually fun for me. So even though I don’