• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

New guy from PA

jam961

Hi, my name is john from Pittsburgh PA. I am just starting to begin my process of looking in to getting a gastric bypass. I am 42 years old, I work in the broadcasting field, and I am very unhappy with what I see looking back at me in the mirror lately. I did have a pretty bad stroke 2 years ago, and I was wondering if they let you have the surgery having had the stroke?

Hey John, FYI-I had a gastric bypass last may 20,2011..Weighed 235lbs...now I weigh 130 lbs...I am 47 yrs old, I also was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis(11 yrs ago) so glad I had the bypass. I feel wonderful. The only thing I do not like is when I first had the surgery and up until apprx. 9 months, I was NEVER HUNGRY...I loved that feeling. But now I'm hungry again...So now of course I don't like being hungry again, but I will learn to deal with it and control it. My advise to you is "have the surgery a.s.a.p" it is worth it...GOOD-LUCK....Lee

HI Jam961 John

have you been to a weight loss seminar yet? If you haven't that is something you can probably get those ? answered there, but most importantly your DR.should know because he or she has all your medical history and the w/l surgery is suppose to be a tool to help us get to a healthy weight and help us avoid further health complications. I assume you too like me have high blood pressure. that is one of the things that the surgery is suppose to correct. I think because our diet changes so much and as we loose the weight our body blood pressure adjust's & we no longer have many health issues like diabetic, high cholestrol etc.