• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

New to this!

CNicole

Hello All! I’m very new to this page. I’m currently in the final stretch of my appointments before everything is submitted to insurance which is next week to be exact. At first I was told due to my acid reflux issues I would have to have the gastric bypass surgery. I had my EGD yesterday and the surgeon said everything looks good and I can switch to the sleeve if I like. I’m very torn on this because for the last few months I had my mind set on gastric bypass and now that the sleeve is and option I don’t know which way to turn. Can anyone give any helps or tips. I’m not nervous at all for surgery. I’m nervous that insurance may deny. I’m 5’11 and 288lbs currently. My height hides my weight and I also and I’m fighting the if I lose too much weight I won’t qualify. I do suffer from high blood pressure sometimes and I’m pre diabetic but other than that I have no comorbidities. So trying to maintain weight has also been a challenge. Does anyone have any advice or which way to turn?

I only had slight reflux before surgery, but just a little was enough to convince me to go the RNY route. I didn’t want it to get worse and end up needing more surgery. But that was a personal decision. It can also depend on if you have other health concerns, and how much weight you need to lose.

Just had my RnY surgery 2 days ago. I've had acid reflux occasionally in the past, but I had some more than usual on my 2-day presurgery liquid diet. I'm so glad I chose the RnY bc of possible Gerd, plus I wanted the structure & restrictions that will hold me more accountable. Of course it's a personal decision, but I've read lots of comments on this site about those who wish they had done the RnY bc of acid reflux. Good luck on your journey!