• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

New to this!

I have acid reflux from medications for respiratory issues. For me it is permanent and I went with RNY. I had dumping once since surgery and it makes me think of the flu. The runny poops is the way my dumping went. Once you get past it you make sure to avoid it a second time. Knowing myself I would have found the work arounds for the sleeve. The RNY is harder to cheat on. Your body makes you pay attention. Good luck on your research and blessings for your decision.

Hello All! I’m very new to this page. I’m currently in the final stretch of my appointments before everything is submitted to insurance which is next week to be exact. At first I was told due to my acid reflux issues I would have to have the gastric bypass surgery. I had my EGD yesterday and the surgeon said everything looks good and I can switch to the sleeve if I like. I’m very torn on this because for the last few months I had my mind set on gastric bypass and now that the sleeve is and option I don’t know which way to turn. Can anyone give any helps or tips. I’m not nervous at all for surgery. I’m nervous that insurance may deny. I’m 5’11 and 288lbs currently. My height hides my weight and I also and I’m fighting the if I lose too much weight I won’t qualify. I do suffer from high blood pressure sometimes and I’m pre diabetic but other than that I have no comorbidities. So trying to maintain weight has also been a challenge. Does anyone have any advice or which way to turn?
C Nicole: