• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Newbie Here.....Almost 5 Years Post RNY :)

Hi everyone! I'm so happy I found this site! I'm Cyndi and, on May 25, 2007, I began my new life. Just 4 days before my 42nd birthday I had my RNY. I was 266 pounds and wearing size 26 jeans. I've had a little weight-gain but that was good. I'm 5'8" and I got down to 125 pounds. WAY too small. I'm up a little now and feeling great! I'm in size 6/size 8 jeans (size 2 was ridiculous) and I feel so great!!! I wish all of you pre-ops and decision-makers all the best. I admit I had a very easy time with my surgery. I had open RNY and woke up in recovery with zero pain. The only pain was in my back from the paper-thin matress. That was it. I've had no setbacks, no complications and just such an easy time. I would do it again in a heartbeat! I wish you all the best on this new AMAZING journey you're about to take!

* Cyndi *

I love reading stories like yours! The office I go to for my weigh ins can be a little rough! I have run into quiet a few people who are soooooooo negative! the chief complaint is If I had known that it was going to be like this I would never have done this. I feel funny because I feel like the doctors and staff that are involved with this are very upfront and honest. I have asked a thousand questions and not once was I denied an answer. I am sure it is the same for most offices that provide this surgery! I know I have rambled but the bottom line is thank you for adding to my positive pile!!!! I am truly looking forward to my new life and all that I will be able to do with my family that is so limited now!!! thanks again Jenny