• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Newbie Intro

iliandbbmom

Hi everyone!! I am 1 month out post op from a gastric bypass. It took about 9 months to get my surgery date so I felt i was as prepared as I could be in every way. I had some serious medical complications within a few days after my surgery which was a unforeseen as i am healthy other than the chronic obesity and it should have been a routine surgery. I have healed well since and am returning to work in a few days. I am a nurse in a hospital and excited to be going back to work. I’m not saying i regret my surgery but it is harder than i imagined and all the classes i took and discussions i had with my care team did not prepare me no fault of theirs. There’s no turning back the clock I feel like I’m not losing weight fast enough and I’m frustrated and tired and hungry and thirsty all the time. My Doctor says I check out well and all is fine. I need the support of others who have gone through this. I think to myself I’ve lost a significant amount of weight before on my own keeping it off is the problem so this is the most extreme measure i could have done to keep it off so this has to work.

Welcome! I’m sorry that you’re frustrated. One of the hardest aspects of this process is knowing or being exposed to others who’ve gone through surgery, and their weight is coming off faster. We’re all going through this at different speeds, and we have to trust our bodies. As long as you’re getting your protein and fluids in the weight will come off. If you still think you’re losing too slowly track your calories and make sure you’re not exercising too much. Too few calories and too much exercise can slow things down. It sounds counterintuitive, but it’s definitely something we’ve talked about on the forum. I’m glad you found the group!