• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

healthy0ma

Just wanted to introduce myself. I have had a rou-en-Y procedure done on September 4th. I had tried several diets and excersize. I even hired a trainer for about 6 months. During those six months, I firmed up and felt better but no weight loss. I had several health issues, such as type 2 diabetes, high blood pressure and high cholesterol. I have lots of joint pain and was on three different meds to help with that. dx of fibromyalgia and erosive arthritis. I am a nurse and working on a unit which entails a lot of walking. My max weight was 228# and I am now down to 186#. I felt I went into the surgery with open eyes and very informed. Surgery was a breeze but I have a few obstacles. One is that I am not being able to take in enough protien. I do not tolerate the protein shakes well. not because of taste but because it gives me abd bloat and lots of gas. I tried and am doing some of the protein chicken soup. I tried the protein bullets and couldn't get that down either. I am on phase 2 of the diet in which I can have sugar free yogurt, sugar free applesauce, cottage cheese, overcooked veggies and scrambled egg. I tried baked fish last night with some broccoli but had a lot of burping and abd pain after eating it. My other problem is that I can't get in the food and the pills i need to take for bp and such. Also I don't like the chewable vitamins. Just bought some chocolate vitamin powder that is not too bad. I also notice that when I go to meijers or vacuum or something I get very tired quickly. I will be returning to work in 2 weeks. I would like to know if the above things are sort of par for the course and if it will get better. I sure hope so. One day I was wondering if I made the right decision. I really had the surgery because I watch my mom struggle with the same health problems that I have and she is 82 and I