• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

NSAIDS

pamelau66

Hello Everyone, I am new to the Chat☺️ I was wondering if anyone was told they would not be able to continue with their headache medicine after surgery because it was an NSAID? Unfortunately, I received this news after surgery. My neurologist has me on pregabalin, but it has not been working as well as my previous NSAID medication (Indomethacin). Thank you!

Welcome! I hope you can find something else. Matia is right that it can increase bleeding but also it’s an ulcer risk. I’m surprised someone didn’t tell you before surgery.
Thank you! I had several discussions about my medication, and my headache medicine was/is the only medication that I take, but no one ever told me that I would not be able to continue taking Indomethacin.

Thank you! I had several discussions about my medication, and my headache medicine was/is the only medication that I take, but no one ever told me that I would not be able to continue taking Indomethacin.
How frustrating! I used to take topiramate for migraines, but it messed with my memory and daily functioning, so I stopped it after about 6 months. I have a friend who has used it for years and has no side effects at all.

How frustrating! I used to take topiramate for migraines, but it messed with my memory and daily functioning, so I stopped it after about 6 months. I have a friend who has used it for years and has no side effects at all.
Sorry to hear that! I too was once on that med for headaches. I hate taking meds that can cause memory loss! I hope that my Neurologist can find a med that will work well and not have frightening side effects

Sorry to hear that! I too was once on that med for headaches. I hate taking meds that can cause memory loss! I hope that my Neurologist can find a med that will work well and not have frightening side effects