• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Post op challenges - lack of energy, nausea

editor14

Hello everyone,
I wanted to see if some of the struggles I'm having are common with others' experiences.
I had gastric sleeve surgery two weeks ago on July 10th. The first week, consuming only clear liquids, went pretty well. I'm on the second stage of the diet now, which for me is darker liquids, sugar free pudding, broth, cream of wheat, protein shakes, etc.
My major issue right now is a lack of energy. I'm lethargic all the time, and I don't feel like I have the stamina to do the exercise I should be doing to kick-start my weight loss. I'm trying to take in as much protein as I can. My goal has been 45 grams a day, even though my doctor says I should be having 80 (which I think is a little unrealistic). I also feel like I'm getting dehydrated, even though I'm trying my best to consume the recommended amount of liquids every day. Any recommendations for boosting my energy?
My second issue is my medicine is making me nauseous. For the last few days, every time I've taken my morning meds (including a bariatric multivitamin, a blood pressure medicine, Pepcid, and an injection of enoxaparin sodium to prevent clotting- although I only have one more dose of that), I feel nauseous almost instantly. Today I actually threw up about a half hour after taking my medicine. Any tips for timing my meds or doing something different to prevent nausea?
My final issue is my emotions. I've been a WRECK since the surgery! I cry at the drop of a hat! I'm touchy, I lash out, and I get easily frustrated. Is anybody else going through this as well?
Thank you all in advance for any advice you can provide.