• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Post-op Medications

Qaterra

Disclaimer: I am not a medical professional and make no recommendation. I am merely passing along information.

I am surprised to see very little discussion about post-op medications, including fiber and multivitamins. I have wondered that there don't seem to be any "why are you taking that" or "why aren't I taking this" discussions.

Over the last several months, I have examined multiple bariatric surgeons' websites in several states and countries. Some prescribe nothing post-op but multivitamins. Some prescribe a whole slew of medications. What follows are those things common to many of them.

Fiber -- duration: lifetime
Multivitamins -- duration: lifetime
Pepto-Bismol -- duration: 3-4 months
Prilosec -- duration: 3-4 months
Ursodiol -- duration: 5-6 months OR as long as you are losing 10lb or more per month

Below is some additional explanatory information I hope you find helpful.