• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Sloooooooooooow

Hey y'all,
I'm Zander. I am relatively new to the bariatric support system and hope I've come to the right place. I am in a bit of a mental pickle. My SW before surgery (VSG) was 302 and I'm 39 days post op and have only lost 15 lbs. This feels ridiculously slow compared to what everyone has told me to expect from friends to doctors. I feel like I'm failing. Any advice on how to get past this mental hurdle? Every doctor I talk to makes me feel like this is normal and ok but mentally... mentally it feels so much worse.

Hey Zander! Welcome!! Slow weight loss can be incredibly frustrating, and I’m sorry you’re dealing with that frustration. But you have to remember not to compare yourself to how quickly others lose weight. Your body and mind are still adjusting, even at 39 days out. How’s your protein and fluid intake? What are you eating? Do you track your intake? How much are you walking? I know, a million questions, but that’s what a lot of people would ask.

I echo 3momchaos! I would also suggest calling the nutritionist and going over what you are consuming and see if any changes can be made that might help. If you are doing everything as you should and still the scale isn't budging, then have patience. It will eventually move. Stalls are frustrating but do happen and your body may still be adjusting too. I had been in a stall about a month ago, so I know it can get you down but hang in there!!!

It is actually in normal range. Per what I was told 10-15 a month, men on the higher end of the range, women on the lower end typically. I am 2 months out and am at about 8 pounds a month. Bodies will lose at their own pace. Stress and frustrations are only going to add to it, also over weighing ourselves are not going to help that process.