• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Starting a new journey

Ntlmill77

Hello all, Natalie here. I am 31, 5’2” SW: 255/GW: 135, no co-morbidities. I am just getting started on my WLS journey. I just had my initial consult yesterday and am a little overwhelmed. I have been overweight for most of my adult life and just am ready to make a major change in my life. I never considered surgery until my spouse and I had a frank conversation about it. I’ve done quite a bit of research...maybe that’s why I’m so overwhelmed, haha. I went to see the doctor yesterday pretty sure I wanted to go with the sleeve, but he has mentioned that the RNY gastric bypass is better for keeping the weight off long-term. So I am now kind of stuck on what to choose. The bypass concerns me because of not being able to absorb as many nutrients and it being a surgery that involves more (like the small intestine connection). And with the sleeve, I’m afraid it won’t be a long-term solution/treatment. Also, the doctor talked about increased heartburn, which I also struggle with. I’ve heard of people gaining back the weight even if they have changed their lifestyle. Any advice you have for me just starting out, that would be great! How did you make this difficult choice? Thank you and excited to be here!