• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Thanks For Having Me...

Rex1965

Fifty-something black male, sleeve gastrectomy in January 2016. Initial weight 330 lbs. Got down to 257, but now hovering around 270-280. I am an emotional eater and I am dealing with a lot, mother is currently in a nursing home with dementia. My brother and I are not speaking and I am also a disabled vet with PTSD and depression. I get easily triggered and I eat. I gave up smoking and alcohol in 2006 and 2009. I am trying to get back on track, but it's really difficult. I was spinning my wheels with my nutritionist. Feeling helpless and afraid. Feedback is appreciated.

Welcome to the group Rex. Wow, sounds like you have a lot going on. You are doing great in reaching out for help and advice. When you reach out for something to eat, do you have a certain type of food you turn to (carbs, sweets, chips, etc...) or do you just go for what is easiest? The amounts you are eating, are they still within the 8 oz per meal range or have you been taking in more than that at a time? When you say you were spinning your wheels with the nutritionist, how did they not help? Were you looking for recipes or specific foods you should/shouldn't eat? Sorry for all of the questions, I just want to get a clear picture of what is going on and how we might be able to help with some advice. Also, between the PTSD, depression, and WLS, do you see a therapist/counselor/psychologist at all?