• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

upcoming surgery

Sunilips

I have finally after trying to get my surgery approved due to work and the holidays have now received a date. March 10,2015 I will be having surgery. I have been getting ready since June of 2014. It is a good and happy thing, but also scarry since I work in the medical field and never have had surgery. I am glad to have found this support group.
:cool:

Janine

I have finally after trying to get my surgery approved due to work and the holidays have now received a date. March 10,2015 I will be having surgery. I have been getting ready since June of 2014. It is a good and happy thing, but also scarry since I work in the medical field and never have had surgery. I am glad to have found this support group.

Janine

Welcome

You will do well.

It is good to hear that you have finally scheduled for surgery.

I hope you have chosen a top doctor in your area.

Also, it is also good if your hospital is a Bariatric center of excellence.

The surgery should have been explained to you by now. It is a laparoscopic procedure. The procedure is minimally evasive and your recovery will be quick.

You will be up and walking around the hospital corridors by the next day and released the day after once they assure everything has gone well.

Pain is easily controlled. Don't deny yourself pain meds. Stay ahead of any pain that you might have. It gets better very quickly in the first week.

I found that I needed minimal pain management after the first day. If you feel the pain level is approaching 5 on a scale of 1 - no pain to 10 - heavy pain , then take your meds.

Your challenge in the first week or two is to stay hydrated. Sip sip sip.