• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Wise word of advise

Marshaa

I too am getting nervous I have my gastic bypass this Tuesday the 14th had a filter installed today I don't know anyone that's had this surgery or what to expect anyone have any word of advise for me

Hi Marshaa! Im sorry, Im new to this as well. My surgery is 2 days after yours and I have never heard of a filter, what is it?

I think it's called a ivf filter they installed it thu my neck into one of my main arteries so if I get any blood clots it you stop them from going to my heart or liver. Are you getting nervous and second guessing yourself too?

Hi Marshaa, I'm not having second thoughts about surgery, I'm actually very excited, but I have learned through this forum that the pre-op procedures vary from doctor to doctor. For example, I have never heard of that filter before and I am wondering why my doctor only put me on the liquid diet for one week when it seems like the norm is two weeks.

Hi cristina
Yes I know what you are saying everything you read is different from doctor to doctor. I am also excited to finally have surgery I guess I'm having last minute jitters. My doctor had me on the liquid diet for the past two weeks but I can eat veggies too as long as any dressing I use is under 35 calories and no starches on Monday I have to do all clear diet.

I too am getting nervous I have my gastic bypass this Tuesday the 14th had a filter installed today I don't know anyone that's had this surgery or what to expect anyone have any word of advise for me
Hi Marshaa, you and I will be having surgery on the same day! I wish you all the luck on your upcoming journey!

Praying for both of you Melanie and Marshaa on the 14th. Let us know how you did as soon as you can. Please pray for my surgery on the 16th. I will let you all know how it went.

Thank you cristina for your kind words.