• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Can not decide.. Lap Band vs Gastric Sleeve.

mezahluna

I have a decision to make ... I am about a 39 BMI, 53 year old female with Sleep Apnea, Onset Diabetis, Joint Problems and High Cholesterol. I definitely do not feel comfortable getting the Y Roen Bypass surgery. I need to choose between the sleeve and the lap band. Now for the really complicated part, I am a Chef. I need to taste a wide variety or recipes. I need to taste each dish before it leaves the kitchen for quality. It is not acceptable to dump from swallowing certain items, nor is this appetizing, most of all this will leave me incapacitated for some time and unable to taste. In a busy kitchen this is not a good practice. Nor is tasting and spitting out the food. This is not a sanitary practice. So what I need is to talk to a chef that has had the surgery. Are you out there?

Hey meza. I guess I am the closest you will get right now on this site. The group is a bit young. Hard decision. This is a long one...so bare with me..there's a point to it...I promise.

I'm a 54 yr old female with no current physical problems. yeah! Prior to surgery I had sleep apnea, diabetes, high cholesterol, ortho issues, enlarged heart, kidney disease, asthma, anemia, and a couple more embarrassing issues.

I almost hesitate to respond to you. Chain of command thing. I have only worked the line, never having expedited. I am sitting here thinking, OMG, she's a much better chef, how do I say this without offending her. I can't believe I'm worried about offending someone I don't know who she is and she doesn't know me. LOL.