• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

countdown

mergatroid

Ok, I need some real honest answers here. I have a month to go before surgery and am wondering what all you post-oppers did at this point.
Did you exercise like crazy to be in your best possible shape before surgery or mope around? Did you eat healthier in preparation
or eat like there was no tomorrow? How did you say goodbye to the foods you love? Did you clean out your closet and bureau to make
room for new clothes? Did you buy a new outfit as an incentive/motivation? Did you go out for dinner "one last time"? Did you set a
date for something special to do later? Just curious, thanks.

Last edited:
I'm curious too... My husband suggested I get a new outfit and hang it where I can see it every day... so far I have the shoes...lol.

Hi,

I never thought about anything like that. I just started practicing how to eat and what not to eat or drink. I gave up carbonated beverages so I would be ready. I started chew chew chewing and sip sip sipping right after my nutrition class. Gave up all fried foods. I didn't need to worry about clothing right away because I had several sizes in my closet just waiting for me to be able to wear them again. As it turned out they didn't fit right after all. I also started a mild exercise program because I knew I would have to do it afterwards. I did go out for a final meal of my favorite things but it had no fried foods. I don't even like fried foods now. For me it is the amount of food I ate because I never knew when I was full. I have heard of people really stocking up and eating all their favorite things right before surgery, especially sweets.