• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Eating Issues

Hello everyone! I am a newbie here and I had my Roux-en-Y on Jan 11th. So almost 4 weeks out. I have been having a lot of trouble getting food down due to mucus and it doesn't seem to matter if I drink hot liquids first or not. The first bite always gets me then I struggle for a long time to keep it or not. Any ideas on getting past this?

Eating

I had my surgery on the 16th and I am having a completely different issue then you. however to get passed the mucus the best thing to do is deep breathe and make sure you cough it out. Theraflu helps to alleviate it if doctor gives permission. My issue is that I already feel like I can eat 2oz or 3oz and I am not at that stage yet. I don't know if some people move faster than others if anyone knows please let me know.

Judy-Welcome to the forum. My RNY is scheduled for 2/27. Try using that breathing contraption they gave you to use in the hospital. I had hernia surgery last June and was still congested for a while when I returned home. I noticed a big difference within 1 day of using it 2 or 3 times an hour. Make sure to come back to the forum to let us know how you are doing.

Thank's for the answers :) Pat...I am not sure that's the same kind of Mucus. This comes natural in your esophagus. Only since surgery I have a lot and it seems to keep my food from going down and staying down.

I think we are so excited when the weight start to come off that we may tend to try to push it tooooo fast. Eat slower and no longer than 15 minutes. Otherwise it could give you some grief down the line and you don't want to end up like me and gain back weight.patti