• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

New and need of support

:confused: Trying to figure this forum stuff out. Had gastric bypass in June of this year. Doing good, in spite of some set backs. I have had 6 endoscopy's done due to a stricture. And my bariatrics program closed at my hospital, so looking for new doctor and new support group. Since I am in the boonies, I don't have much to chose from. I have a long drive no matter where I go. Maybe this online support will help me? I just feel lost and frustrated. Any friends would be wonderful!!!

Hey! I am new at this too. I just had gastric sleeve done 2 weeks ago today. I, like you thought that maybe I could get some "buddies" on here.

You've come to the right place. Lots of friendly, supportive, knowledgeable and helpful people are on here. Welcome aboard.

Mary Christine
Welcome to the board. You'll find plenty of people that will be your friend, a shoulder to cry on, an ear to listen with and experience to impart. Congrats on the outstanding weight loss.

Hi Mary, Welcome. This is a great place to come to for support. Sorry to hear you hospital left you high and dry, they should have written you a referal to another bariatric center to do all the follow up that we need after surgery, most primary care doctors aren't familliar with our needs and what blood work to do. I am glad to hear you are doing good, I hope that the stricture has been taken care of, there are others on the forum that have had the same problem, I was lucky and didn't have many setbacks. Let us know how things are going. :cool: Tom

Excellent weight loss, Mary Christine. And welcome to the forum to you, and jlcrimm also. Please stop by often.