• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Pre-surgery liquid diet

So I understand that I must do the liquid diet for a week before my surgery date. My issue is that I work in the auto industry building cars, 8 to 10 hours a day, Monday to Saturday. Given the restrictive diet and heavy manual labor, I am concerned that I will have problems pulling the diet off. From previous experience, sometimes the more active I am seems to work up hunger and the liquid diet is not something that is workplace friendly (especially working in a plant/warehouse). I am worlndering should I try to go on my medical leave the week (liquid diet week) before my surgery, or am I just being a bit over concerned? I just dont see how I will be able to complete a very low calorie liquid diet, while running up and down the line chasing cars. Any suggestions or advice from anyone please.

It all depends on the type of liquid diet. If you are replacing with high protein shakes you should be okay. Maybe you should give the diet a trial run on a day you are off work and see how you feel. Whatever you do don't cheat it is to important.

Best of luck
Sharon

I'm at the liquid pre-op stage too. The first few days were really rough-all I could think of was food and it was the weekend and I was at home where there's lots of food!!!! Maybe being at work will be a blessing in disguise by keeping your mind off the hunger. Perhaps you could take 3 ready-made shakes with you and ask for an additional break. They might be glad enough to have you at work that a short extra break would be worth it to them. Women who are nursing babies stop to pump, don't they? Talk with your supervisor--they are getting a healthier and happier employee in the long run! Best wishes!!
Mimi