• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

20 Years Old & Have A Brand New Life! :)

Hey Everyone,

My name is Laura, I'm 20 years old and I recently had RYN/Gastric Bypass on October 29th, 2012. The day after my birthday! I always told myself it was the greatest birthday gift to myself, I'll ever have. I'm new to the support group and I was wanting to find other people that might be in the same situations that I'm in. I'll be honest, at my support group, many people give me dirty looks, or rude remarks due to my rapid weight loss. I understand that I am young and I have a lot going for me with my age but I honestly feel so embarrassed about my weight loss. Being now 3 weeks post op, I feel as though I'm needing just some more support from others. I am a full-time college student while enduring this crazy life change but it would be GREAT to see if there is anyone my own age going through the same issues that I am, also anyone who can relate no matter the age. I go to school at West Virginia University studying Geology & Petroleum Engineering and I would love to have a boost reminding me that even though my situation is more challenging then most that I'm not alone.

Anyways, I'm off to scope some more forums, but most definitely to make more friends!

Hi Laura, Congrats on doing a great job on weight loss. How much have you lost? My name is Carla, I am 57 but don't feel that old. My surgery is next Wed Nov. 21 the day before Thanksgiving. I was at the hospital Monday for some tests. Any one of the x-ray tech got real nasty with me because She didn't think I was big enough for the surgery, and i was wasting the Dr. time. People are just rude. Hope you are feeling well. And, drinking your water, and protein. LOL I'm here if you ever need friend. Hugs