• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

New Member: Registered Nurse, Sports Nutrition Rep, former Athletic/Personal Trainer

DamonRN

Hello, My name is Damon. I was referred to this site from a friend who I also work with, Ashly Schaffer, also a bariatric patient herself. I am a registered nurse specializing in cardiology. I am currently considering post graduate studies as an adult nurse practitioner specializing in metabolic/bariatric surgery. My interest grew after attending/working this years American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery conference & expo in San Diego, CA. I met very amazing people from surgeons, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, registered dieticians, bariatric industry people and all of the wonderful bariatric patient's and their stories! So first and foremost I am here to learn from all of you as patient's.

I also work with a sports performance nutrition company as a health care consultant/product rep. ALR Industries has formulated a one of a kind protein supplement Humapro initially for nephrology (kidney) patients. The owner & his friend were suffering from this disease. They are the health care population with the most difficulty in processing/utilizing proteins. Up to 40% of what you do not utilize can convert to sugar. Humapro does not convert to sugar. Excellent for diabetics. Most will be waste that the kidneys which are already taxed in kidney patients must disposed of. And most dairy/whey products will cause some GI (stomach/intestinal) upset, gas, bloating. So Humapro also works very well with bariatrics for the same reason, pre-digested, no dairy, no gluten, maximum/optimal protein utilization.