• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Newbie here! 2 days post op.....

Hello! I just arrived home after my RNY. As soon as I walked in the door I realized I am going to see support and someone to ask questions of. I found this site. A little about me. In 2010 at 275 lbs I underwent surgery for the Lap Band. After just over a year it had eroded and was removed. I had lost 85 lbs and felt great. I was discouraged about having it removed but felt like it was a good tool and I had learned a lot. I never wanted to procedure with a more permanent gastric surgery. After 8 month I had gained 30 lbs back. Discouraged I proceeded to get approved for the Gastric RNY surgery. Surgery was just days ago on August 21st. I feel good as long as I manage my pain. I am just hoping to make some connections with others goign through the same thing. I have told only my husband and a good friend about my surgery. I am looking forward to getting to know everyone!

Welcome Upnorthmom...I just had my gastric bypass on July 25, 2012. I have heard of a few people who had the Lap band and returned in a few years for the bypass. I chose the Bypass due to the fact that I was also diabetic and had high blood pressure. I am now off of my medications for diabetes and High Blood Pressure, thanks to the bypass! I wish you success! You'll find a lot of support on this forum!

Upnorthmom-Welcome to tee forum, so glad you found us! Feel free to ask questions, advise others or just let us know how your day is going. I hope you come back to let us know how you are doing :)

Hi UpNorthMom, Welcome. So sorry your band didn't work out so well, I hope the RnY treats you much better. We are all here to help each other so feel free to ask questions on how we deal withh day to day issues on this weight loss journey we have all embarked on. :cool: Tom