• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

pain?

polo4058

hi, my name is phil,
this will be my third post. in all the reading of posts, i havent seen anything written regarding pain. i am strongly considering the sleeve. after the stapling does anyone feel any pain. if so for how long and how severe. i am a golfer and i expect to golf soon after surgery (if i am able).
when you lose most of your stomach by surgery i would thing there is some pain. but nobody talks about it. if anyone can offer me some insight i would be greatful. thanks in advance for your honesty.
polo

Hi Phil, Welcome. You know that was one of the first questions I asked my doctor after surgery, for some reason I didn't even think of it pre op:confused: I had the RnY and as soon as I was released to full duty I started playing golf again, so it was probably 6 or 7 weeks post op. I was only on pain meds for about a week after I got out of the hospital and after that the only pain I had was when I laughed, sneezed or rolled over in bed and got up from my chair, but it subsided gradually until I didn't notice it anymore. I have heard that people recover faster with the sleeve so you may be able to play golf sooner, let's hope so:D That's a great question so don't forget to ask your doctor. :cool: Tom