• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step... (Lao Tsu)

...and I just took it!
Hi everyone! My name is Brandy and I'm a noob. :D
I live in Northern Va - the Capitol region, my front porch is almost exactly 20 miles from the White House front porch! Yesterday I met with the Bariatric surgery team at the National Military Medical Center - Bethesda, where I will be having my surgery, eventually. I have to take a few steps to get there but I'm looking forward to the journey.
About me: I was born and raised a military brat and was a military wife for 20 years - I spent 1/2 my life overseas so I have many adventures to tell! I have a nearly 21 year old son who is a junior in college (BOOMER SOONER!) and an amazing ten year old son who has high functioning autism, with my ex. My SO and I have a gorgeous two year old Princess together.
I have struggled with my weight ever since the birth of my first son 21 years ago. Now, I'm turning 40 this year and I'm already on Lipitor, have a c-pap machine for sleep apnea and I'm on daily aspirin therapy. Oh yeah, and I've lived with the pain of fibromyalgia for nearly 16 years now. I have a wicked medical family history and I'm headed for the slippery slope of my elders if I don't get healthy - quickly!
Which, of course, brings me here, to this forum! I'm eager to explore it, learn from the experiences of others and, most of all, make new friends!
I very much look forward to getting to know all of you, and your stories and sharing mine with you!
Brandy

Welcome to the forum, Brandy. I, too, did not gain my weight until I was an adult. In my case I started college at the age of 32 (when my oldest kid started high school) weighing 140.
Six years and 2 degrees later, I weighed over 200 pounds. I think it was the junk food, beer, and chocolate chip cookies that was my diet for 6 years!