• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Feeling Horrible Post-Op

reikinurse

Greetings all!

Just introducing myself for now. Hoping there are other sleeve gastrectomy people whom I can chat with eventually. I'm having a really difficult time getting all the fluids in, because I'm usually nauseous and/or nothing tastes like it used to. Not even water! Being a nurse, I am well aware of the dangers of dehydration, but even that knowledge isn't helping me.

All the sugar free drinks like Crystal Light and diet green tea are sweetened so horribly that it's way too sweet for my liking. I'm at my wit's end here. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get these fluids in?? I really want a diet ginger ale ... that is all I've been craving. But they tell me no carbonation. What's a person to do??? Prior to surgery, the only thing I usually drank was plain water. For some reason, now it doesn't cut it.

Thank you in advance!!

Have you thought about opening up a diet gingerale and letting it go flat for a couple of days before drinking it? You may find that even though you crave it, it may not taste the same as you remember! Keep your chin up... I am only a few days out of the bypass surgery and each day I get stronger that the day before. You will to. Ask your doctor about anti-nasuea meds that may be a help in order to get the fluids down. maybe you could just add some fresh squeezed lemon or lime juice to your water to freshen up the taste of the water but not add sweetness to it, like the diet drink mixes do, like Crystal Light.