• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

I'm a noob, 3 days after surgery.

fkrebs

Hi everyone,

I had Gastric By-Pass surgery on Wednesday afternoon and am now sitting at home, trying to figure things out. At my largest I hit 393, though the qualifiying process for surgery required I lose some weight. I managed to lose about 16 pounds over 6 months. Once the surgery was approved, I was schedule and then told I would have to use meal replacement shakes for two meals a day for one week and then I would have to replace all real food with the shakes for the last two weeks. I lost 30 pounds in that three week period and I felt good about myself and excited about the coming surgery. When I got home from the hospital, I eagerly jumped on the scale to see my first weight loss, post surgery and I gained 7.2 pounds. Talk about bummed out. I was very upset and didn't know what to think. Had this been any other diet, I would have gone out and eaten. That is no an option at the moment, so I just reflected and decided I would call the doc's office on monday and ask about this. Anyway, I came here to learn from others and provide feedback of my own.

:cool:

Hi!

First, congrats on your weight loss and getting through the surgery! It is very common to be heavier when you come home from the hospital. This is due to fluid within your body. Eventually, this weight will go away and you will see the pounds start melting away. When my dad had it, he came home 10 pounds heavier then when he went to the hospital! It will fix itself, I promise! :) Good luck adjusting to your new body! Very exciting.

Jamie

fkrebs,