• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

i'm just getting started

AndreaK

From the time you went to your first seminar, how long did it take to get a surgery date and what were the steps to getting there?

hi Andrea

every state seems to have different rules and time frames of getting things done. I started in Jan, and have went to seminar, support group meeting, nutritionist, physical therapist and had the psychological testing and saw nurse practioner had all that done by March and can't see surgeon til May1,2012 been a long drawn out process but anxious to find out on the 4th hopefully get my surgery date. I would love for it to take place in May, it's been hard waiting it out. everybody on here there journey's have had different time frames some got everything done within a couple of months, depends on your state, insurance and how busy dr office is. good luck on your journey and come back and share with us how things are going for you. I hope your lucky enough to get it done quickly.
Donna

Why was there such a long time? I'm going to a seminar tonight...I hope to find out more

The first time (6 years) was because my insurance wouldn't cover the surgery even with multiple letters of medical necessity from my doctor. The second time (3 months) was after I changed insurance companies. Once your insurance approves the surgery it goes pretty fast. Some insurance companies take 8 weeks to make a decision. I was told it would take my insurance 6 to 8 weeks to respond but was approved in just 24 hours...almost unheard of. From what I have read in this forum I would say it takes an average of 8 weeks after insurance approval to have the surgery.