• American Bariatrics is a free online Bariatric Support Group. Register for your free account and get access to all of our great features!

Pain

Dianal

I'm just getting started on this journey. I was wondering about the pain after surgery and how great it is.

I'm just getting started on this journey. I was wondering about the pain after surgery and how great it is.

Hi Dianl, Welcome. It is different for everyone but I didn't think the pain was to bad, I was on a pain medicine on demand machine for the first 24 hours post op then they took that off and I was on a liquid pain medicine for about 6 more days then off completely, the only discomfort I had after that was when I laughed, coughed or when I stood up or rolled over in bed and that went away afetr about three weeks. :cool: Tom

I had an epidural for 3 days, PCA with fentanyl (which i didn't use), and then went to dilaudid oral pain meds. I had an open RNY, not a lap, but my pain was mostly discomfort. I was also up walking 3hrs after surgery. All I can say is move move move, the first time is the worst they say, but the more you get up and walk, the better it will be. Good Luck to you!

Hi Dianal

I was in quite a bit of pain the day of surgery and the day after, but the worst of it was the gas pain related to expanding my stomach. The doctor told me the gas related pain would last 24-48 hours, but it went just a bit longer. Ironically, my left shoulder hurt the worst. Pain meds in the hospital helped a lot. My surgery was on Thursday, I went home on Saturday, and was pain med free on Sunday. I am now 8 days pst surgery and have only minor aches/pains.